Proteas Wrap Up T20 Series

South Africa beat India by six wickets in the second Twenty20 International at the Barabati Stadium in Cuttack on Monday to take an unassailable three-match series.  The Indians were bowled out in 17.2 overs after a superb Proteas bowling display.  The hosts were reduced to 30/2 in the fifth over as Chris Morris managed to trap Shikar Dhawan for 11.

Rohit Sharma was run out by a direct throw from David Miller before Kagiso Rabada bowled Ambati Rayadu out for the second successive time in the series.  Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Suresh Raina brought some stability to the innings for the men in blue with a stand of 22.  In the 12th over the home side slipped after Dhoni was caught behind off Albie Morkel to make it 67/5.

Harbhajan Singh did not last long and fell as Imran Tahir took two wickets in as many balls while Morkel was on his way to 3/12 in his four overs, unheard of in this format.  The 2007 T20 world champions were all out for a lowly 92.

The South Africans did not race their way to the finish line unscathed.  AB De Villiers (19) and Faf Du Plessis (16) helped the cause up front even though the tourists were never really in trouble.  There was a crowd interruption twice when the upper stands supporters started throwing bottles on to the field and the game had to be paused for nearly 30 minutes.

After the game resumed the visitors made their way home.  JP Duminy’s unbeaten 30 was the required tonic to see the side in green to victory.  Morkel was named man of the match.  The third T20I will be played on Thursday in Kolkata.