WP Unchanged For Currie Cup Final

Western Province will field an unchanged line-up in Saturday’s Absa Currie Cup Final against the  Golden Lions in Johannesburg (kick-off 13:45).  Coach John Dobson has wisely not tampered with the match-22 that beat the Blue Bulls by 23-18 in last weekend’s semifinal, with outside centre Johnny Kotze (knock to the knee) cleared to take part in the final.  Kotze will start in his first-ever Currie Cup Final, one of seven players doing so, whilst a total of 12 players in the match day squad will be wearing Province colours in a final for the first time.

Dobson says:  ‘We have a massive task ahead of us on Saturday, so it was good to retain this kind of (selection) continuity ahead of the final.  The Lions deserve to be hosting this weekend’s final.  They’re unbeaten and have been consistently brilliant throughout the season, so we are certainly up against it.  I thought the guys showed good signs against the Bulls last week, but we certainly need to take it up a notch against this Lions side who will be looking to make up for last year’s final and ensure their current unbeaten run is rewarded with some silverware.’

Juan De Jongh will again skipper the Province team on Saturday, with loosehead prop Steven Kitshoff playing in his final match for the union before he departs for France at the end of the season.

The Western Province match day squad is as follows:

15. Cheslin Kolbe – 38 WP caps
14. Dillyn Leyds – 14 WP caps
13. Johnny Kotze – 9 WP caps
12. Juan De Jongh (captain) – 55 WP caps
11. Seabelo Senatla – 16 WP caps
10. Robert Du Preez – 19 WP caps
9. Nic Groom – 68 WP caps
8. Nizaam Carr – 37 WP caps
7. Sikhumbuzo Notshe – 40 WP caps
6. Rynhardt Elstadt – 39 WP caps
5. Ruan Botha – 18 WP caps
4. Jean Kleyn – 21 WP caps
3. Wilco Louw – 21 WP caps
2. Bongi Mbonambi – 11 WP caps
1. Steven Kitshoff – 38 WP caps

16. Michael Willemse – 23 WP caps
17. Oli Kebble – 15 WP caps
18. Chris Van Zyl – 18 WP caps
19. Jurie Van Vuuren – 14 WP caps
20. Jano Vermaak – 7 WP caps
21. Kurt Coleman – 60 WP caps
22. Huw Jones – 9 WP caps