WP Crowned 2014 Currie Cup Champions

An all round superb team performance helped Western Province narrowly defeat the Golden Lions 19-16 to be crowned Absa Currie Cup champions for a record 33rd time at Newlands on Saturday.  The 2013 Currie Cup runners-up raced to a 6-0 lead early on in the match through two penalties converted by Demetri Catrakilis.  The men from Gauteng had a penalty of their own as the hosts were penalised for not rolling away, however Marnitz Boshoff was not able to convert it.
WP let a lot of errors creep into their game seeing their visitors awarded several penalties including two more kickable ones that were missed once again by Boshoff.  Ruan Combrinck also missed for one for the away side.  The hosts went on to extend their lead even further when Jaco Taute cut through the Lions defence to score the first try of the match which Catrakilis converted to take them into a 13-0 leading heading into the half-time break.  In the second half the men from the highveld were awarded a penalty which was slotted over by their number ten to get them on the scoreboard.
They went on to back that up with a try from Jaco Van Der Walt as well as a conversion and a penalty by Boshoff to draw level at 13-13.  The home side were not going to give up that easily and were awarded a penalty due to an infringement from the visitors which was converted by their young fly half with 20 minutes left.  An exchange of penalties at 16-13 with different outcomes saw the 32 times champions convert theirs whereas the ten times champions hit the upright instead with 13 minutes to go.
Combrinck converted a penalty for offside against Province to take them within three points as it looked like it was going to go down to the wire.  Johan Ackermann’s men had a scrum which they drove towards to the home side’s 10 metre line and were then awarded a penalty in the 79th minute.  Unfortunately Boshoff was not able to convert and Allister Coetzee’s men ran out 19-16 victors and were crowned the 2014 Currie Cup champions.