Uruguay’s Los Teros

Despite its size, the country has always remained competitive and is currently ranked the second-best rugby playing nation in South America, behind Argentina. The Uruguayans made their international debut in 1948 in a game against Chile which resulted in a 21-3 loss, but would manage to redeem themselves at the first Unofficial South American Rugby Championships where they defeated Chile 8-3
and emerged as eventual runners-up in the competition. Almost 40 years later it won the first Official South American Rugby Championship.

In the 1960s Uruguay played their first international match against European opposition, losing 59-0 to France. The two would clash again in 1985 when Le Bleus ran out 34-6 winners. While they have a poor record against European opposition, the country has won most of its matches against traditional American opposition, however it has never defeated Los Pumas.

Uruguay will forever endure itself to the rugby world after the 1972 Andes disaster where 29 people eventually lost their lives. A plan carrying 40 passengers, including Uruguyan rugby players, crashed into the mountain range and survived some two months. Ultimately only 11 people survived to tell the tale.

One of the greatest achievements for the Uruguayan Rugby Union was qualifying for the World Cup in 1999 and they will hope to top that achievement when they return to England for this year’s competition. Los Teros have a proud record of winning at least one match in each of their two previous tournaments and would love to emulate that achievement in 2015.


Forwards: Alejo Corral, Carlos Arboleya, Mateo Sanguinetti, Mario Sagario, Oscar Duran, Nicolas Klappenbach, German Kessler, Santiago Vilaseca, Jorge Zerbino, Mathias Palomeque, Franco Lamanna, Juan Manuel Gaminara, Diego Magno, Alejandro Nieto, Juan de Freitas, Agustin Alonso, Fernando Bascou, Matias Beer.

Backs: Agustin Ormaechea, Alejo Duran, Felipe Berchesi, Manuel Blengio, Andres Vilaseca, Joaquin Prada, Alberto Roman, Francisco Bulanti, Santiago Gibernau, Leandro Leivas, Jeronimo Etcheverry, Rodrigo Silva, Gaston Mieres