UJ Downs CUT

The afternoon match at the UJ Stadium in Johannesburg left the home crowd cheerful as UJ comfortably beat CUT 14-0 to record their third win and remain unbeaten so far in the 2016 FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International.  The opening quarter of the game was a tightly contested one as both sides were equal to the challenge.  The first 30 minutes saw both sides go at each other as CUT showed character when they managed to contain the home team.  

It was not until the home supporters slowly started to make their way into the stadium that UJ started to gain the ascendancy.  A lineout won by UJ saw the home side get a the first points of the afternoon, when a strong maul by the forwards saw Emmanuel Morowane score the try in the 31st minute, with Divan Nel scoring the conversion.  The home side doubled the score in the 34th minute when sustained pressure from the home side led to their second try courtesy of wing Peter John who skipped a tackle to make it a second try for UJ.

Fly half Divan Nel made no mistake with the conversion as UJ marched on to a 14-0 half-time lead.  The second half of the game saw CUT trying to attack the home team from the onset, however UJ weathered the storm and kept CUT at bay.  The home supporters played their part as well, as they kept the stadium buzzing with the crowd singing and dancing to their team’s display after 70 minutes.

The last 10 minutes saw CUT giving it a go against UJ, but to no avail as the home team defended their tryline.  The home side controlled the match as the full-time whistle blew, which saw UJ comfortably winning against CUT.

Player That Rocks: Jeremy Jordaan (UJ)


FNB UJ: Five-point tries: Emmanuel Morowane, Peter John Walters

Conversions: Divan Nel

FNB UJ team: 1 Siyakubonga Nzuzo, 2 Emmanuel Morowane, 3 Nico Du Plessis, 4 Jeremy Jordaan, 5 David Antonites, 6 Wian Conradie, 7 Etienne Oosthuizen, 8 Jakobus Porter (c), 9 Johan Esterhuizen, 10 Divan Nel, 11 Aphiwe Dyanti, 12 Robert De Bruyn, 13 Bradley Moolman, 14 Peter John Walters, 15 Ronald Brown

Replacements: 16 Johannes Snyman, 17 Kyle Krueger, 18 Kyle Van Dalen, 19 Phenyo Seriteng, 20 Hilton Mudariki, 21 Kobus Engelbrecht, 22 Godfrey Ramaboea, 23 Waldo Weideman.

FNB CUT team: 1 Juan Volkwyn, 2 Len Noort, 3 Gunter Janse Van Vuuren, 4 Wikis Davis, 5 Rayno Nel, 6 Dean Rossouw, 7 Junior Burger, 8 Vincent Maruping, 9 Markus Grobler, 10 Darrin Baron, 11 Henry Immelman, 12 Johan Nel, 13 Charles Hitchcock (c), Ruan Wasserman, 15 Meyer Van Yonder

Replacements: 16 Theuns Truter, 17 Gerard Baard, 18 Sylvester Makakole, 19 Jasper Wiese, 20 Dean Jacobs, 21 Ali Mgijima, 22 Lethole Mokeona, 23 George Marich.

Photo credit: SASPA