UCT Suffers Third Straight Defeat

The UCT Ikey Tigers suffered their third straight defeat in this year’s FNB Varsity Cup presented by Steinhoff International, after they went down 22-6 against NWU-Pukke.  Fans and players alike would have been hoping for a turnaround of fortune, but things didn’t go the way of the hosts at the cold and windy Green Mile.  Pukke got on the scoreboard after only six minutes, with Rhyno Smith putting the visitors three points up after his team earned a penalty.

It was only seven minutes later that Wilmar Arnoldi scored Pukke’s first try of the night, with Rhyno Smith easily converting.  The visitors scored again just after thirty minutes of the game had been played, with Rhyno Smith converting again.  It was only on the stroke of half-time that the Ikey Tigers got some points of their own through a penalty kick.

Four minutes after action resumed for the second half, Joel Smith put away a penalty and earned the Ikey Tigers three more points.  Pukke upped the ante during the second half, proving almost too much for the Ikey Tigers to deal with at times.  Their constant pressure and solid defending payed off six minutes from time, as Walt Steenkamp found himself on the end of a successful attacking burst to score five more points.

The final score, Ikeys 6-22 Pukke.

Ikey Tigers: 15 Gerard Pieterse, 14 Nathan Nel, 13 Hendrik Lategan, 12 Kofi Appiah, 11 Suwilanji Chibale, 10 Hilio De Abreu, 9 Dylan Tidbury, 8 Nyasha Tarusenga, 7 Luke Stringer, 6 Jason Klassen, 5 Gary Porter, 4 Jade Kriel (C), 3 Michael Kumbirai, 2 Keagan Timm, 1 Joel Carew

Replacements: 16 Brenton Greaves, 17 Msizi Zondi, 18 Olwethu Hugo, 19 Mark Prior, 20 Steven Wallace, 21 Rob Anderson, 22 Joel Smith, 23 David Maasch

Scorers: Penalties: Hilio De Abreu, Joel Smith

FNB NWU-Puk: 15 Rhyno Smith, 14 Lucian Cupido, 13 Sylvian Mahuza, 12 Hendrik Marais, 11 Dean Stokes, 10 Schalk Hugo, 9 Malherbe Swart, 8 Marno Redelinghuys, 7 Jeandre Rudolph, 6 Jaco Jordaan, 5 Walt Steenkamp, 4 Loftus Morrison, 3 Bartholomeus Le Roux, 2 Wilmar Arnoldi, 1 Joe Smith.

Replacements: 16 Louis Van Der Westhuizen, 17 Mashudu Mafela, 18 Daniel Jordaan, 19 Gideon Van Der Merwe, 20 Kurshwill Williams, 21 Barend Janse Van Rensburg, 22 Eswyn Heyns, 23 Mogau Mabokela.

Scorers: Five-point tries: Wilmar Arnoldi, Joe Smith, Walt Steenkamp

Conversions: Rhyno Smith (2)

Penalties: Rhyno Smith

Photo credit: Halden Krog/SASPA