Twenty Defenders Shortlisted For FIFA FIFPro World XI

FIFPro, the worldwide players’ union, and FIFA have announced the 20 defenders shortlisted for the FIFA FIFPro World XI 2014 (see list below) as part of the final 55-man shortlist to be revealed on 1 December 2014.  Two days after the unveiling of the five goalkeepers who made the shortlist, the 20 defenders are now known and will be followed by the 15 midfielders and 15 forwards, due to be announced and published on on 28 November and 1 December respectively.  The FIFA FIFPro World XI is decided by the players, for the players.

It involves votes from tens of thousands professional footballers worldwide.  They select one goalkeeper, four defenders, three midfielders and three forwards.  FIFPro and its national affiliates are responsible for gathering votes from professional footballers worldwide.

It is the only global award that truly represents the views of those who play the beautiful game.  For more information on the voting procedure click For more information on the voting procedure click here.

Shortlisted defenders
David Alaba (Austria/Bayern Munich)
Jordi Alba (Spain/Barcelona)
Dani Alves (Brazil/Barcelona)
Jerome Boateng (Germany/Bayern Munich)
Daniel Carvajal (Spain/Real Madrid)
David Luiz (Brazil/Paris St-Germain)
Filipe Luis (Brazil/Chelsea)
Diego Godin (Uruguay/Atlético Madrid)
Mats Hummels (Germany/Borussia Dortmund)
Branislav Ivanovic (Serbia/Chelsea)
Vincent Kompany (Belgium/Manchester City)
Philipp Lahm (Pictured) (Germany/Bayern Munich)
Marcelo (Brazil/Real Madrid)
Javier Mascherano (Argentina/Barcelona)
Pepe (Portugal/Real Madrid)
Gerard Pique (Spain/Barcelona)
Sergio Ramos (Spain/Real Madrid)
Thiago Silva (Brazil/Paris St-Germain)
Raphael Varane (France/Real Madrid)
Pablo Zabaleta (Argentina/Manchester City).

The nominees for the following awards will be announced live on, and YouTube ( on 1 December:  FIFA Ballon d’Or, FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year, FIFA World Coaches of the Year for Men’s and Women’s Football, FIFA FIFPro World XI, and FIFA Puskás Award.  The final FIFA FIFPro World XI will then be announced at the FIFA Ballon d’Or award ceremony at the Kongresshaus in Zurich on 12 January 2015.  During the televised ceremony, the winner of the FIFA Ballon d’Or for the best player of 2014 and the winner of the FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year 2014 award will also be revealed, while the FIFA World Coach of the Year awards for men’s and women’s football will be presented for the fifth time.

The FIFA Puskás Award for the best goal of the year, the FIFA Presidential Award, and the FIFA Fair Play Award will also be presented during the award ceremony.