Three NZ Players To Debut At Cape Town Sevens

The All Blacks Sevens team to play the Cape Town Sevens this weekend includes three new caps following a spate of injuries at the Dubai Sevens.  Of the three new caps, Bay of Plenty centre Teddy Stanaway was part of the New Zealand Sevens Development side that played in the Central Coast Sevens in October.  Wellington based wing Max Pearson was a top try scorer in the local club competition and played in the New Zealand Development side in the Noosa Sevens tournament. 

Manawatu loose forward Antonio Kirikiri took part in the recent All Blacks Sevens Dubai training camp.  Ambrose Curtis also returns to the side after being a regular member of the All Blacks Sevens last season.  Pearson, Kirikiri, Waaka and Curtis travelled to Cape Town after five players were ruled out after being injured at Dubai.

The injured players are; Scott Curry (dislocated shoulder), Gillies Kaka (ankle), Tim Mikkelson (concussion), Sherwin Stowers (broken arm) and Regan Ware (ankle).  In addition, Lewis Ormond was yesterday ruled out of Cape Town Sevens following a bicep injury at Dubai.

The team is;

Dylan Collier (Waikato)
Ambrose Curtis (Wellington)
Sam Dickson (Canterbury)
DJ Forbes (Counties Manukau)
Antonio Kirikiri* (Manawatu)
Declan O’Donnell (Waikato)
Max Pearson* (Wellington)
Augustine Pulu (Waikato)
Teddy Stanaway* (Bay of Plenty)
Isaac Te Tamaki (Waikato)
Beaudein Waaka (Taranaki)
Joe Webber (Waikato)