SuperSport United’s Matsatsantsa

SuperSport United was established in 1994 and went by the name Pretoria City before that but was renamed after being bought by M-Net.  The club is currently based in Pretoria along with league rivals Mamelodi Sundowns and the University of Pretoria.  Despite their relatively short history in South African football SuperSport has achieved a considerable amount of success, with their first taste of top-flight silverware being the Nedbank Cup in 1999.

Matsatsantsa would go on to win that cup on two more occasions.  United has also won the SAA Supa 8 but their most impressive achievement to date came in the Absa Premiership, where Gavin Hunt’s men won the league title three times in a row from 2007/08 to 2009/10.  This remains a feat which no other PSL club has accomplished.
The previous season proved to be a decent campaign for Gordon Igesund’s men, as they finished sixth in the league and were winners of the Telkom Knockout Cup.  Igesund arrived after the term had already begun after the club decided to show former coach Cavin Johnson the door after a poor start.  SuperSport has bolstered its squad with the additions of Michael Boxall, Phumelele Bhengu, Grant Kekana and Denwin Farmer.
Fagrie Lakay and former Tottenham Hotspur defender Bongani Khumalo have also put pen to paper for the capital club.  Players who have left Matsatsantsa include Edwin Gyimah, who moved to Orlando Pirates, Thabo Moloi who’s been loaned out to AmaZulu and Mor Diouf who was released by the club.*

Igesund’s charges kick off their league campaign against Orlando Pirates on Tuesday, 11 August.
*Correct as at 5 August 2015