SuperSport United’s Matsatsantsa

SuperSport United was founded as recently as 1994 and celebrates its 20th anniversary this year and are hoping to make it one to remember.  Currently coached by Cavin Johnson they play their home games at the Lucas Moripe Stadium in Atteridgeville.  Originally known as Pretoria City before they were bought by M-Net in 1994 and changed their name to SuperSport United after earning approval from the National Soccer League.

As a club they have won three Absa Premiership titles, three Nedbank Cups, a SAA Supa 8, a Sparletta Cup and one Second Division title.  In the 2013/2014 season Matsatsantsa finished in fifth position on 44 points recording 12 wins, eight draws and ten losses.  They started off well winning their first three games but suffered defeats to Moroka Swallows, Platinum Stars, AmaZulu and Ajax Cape Town even did the double over them just to name a few.

Looking forward to the new season Johnson has brought in some new faces in Michael Morton from Maritzburg United, the Bloemfontein Celtic duo of Clayton Daniels and Lerato Manzini as well as free agent Jabu Pule.  They have also had a few departures in Sibusiso Zuma who was released, David Nkausa and Bevan Fransman who moved to Phunya Sele Sele.  SuperSport will be hoping to build on their preseason success when they won the Gauteng Challenge.

Matsatsantsa start their season in the MTN8 against Orlando Pirates in Soweto before hosting Bidvest Wits in the league on National Women’s Day.