Sharks Squad Named For Super Rugby Clash Against Blues

Jake White has announced his Cell C Sharks match day squad for the Super Rugby clash against the Blues in Auckland on Friday.  The match at the North Harbour Stadium kicks off at 09:35 and will be refereed by Nick Briant of New Zealand.   SP Marais, JP Pietersen and Lwazi Mvovo will again form the back three with S’bura Sithole and Paul Jordaan in the midfield.  Francois Steyn and Cobus Reinach will be at halfback for a match White knows will be a touch encounter, “”We are going to have to defend, I don’t think they will kick as much as the Crusaders did, they’ll definitely try run it back and they’ve got some dangerous outside backs, but, in saying that, we need to make sure that the rest of our game is good enough as well, we can’t rely on defence only.”

The Sharks Director of Rugby said, ‘”There has been a lot of criticism about our lack of tries.  To put it in perspective, the Crusaders had scored nearly 100 points in the two matches before we met, and they scored just one try against us.  But, the positives are that we scored three tries and there is a massive vibe in the team now and we need to take that forward into the next couple of weeks.”  White’s front row will be made up of Tendai Mtawarira, Jannie Du Plessis and captain Bismarck Du Plessis.  Etienne Oosthuizen and Stephan Lewies will form the lock pairing with Willem Alberts, Jacques Botes and Tera Mtembu the back row.

The bench is made up of Kyle Cooper, Dale Chadwick, Lourens Adriaanse, Ryan Kankowski, Keegan Daniel, Charl McLeod, Tim Swiel and Heimar Williams.