Sharks Name Squad For Stormers Trip

Ryan Kankowski will run out for his 100th Vodacom Super Rugby game on Saturday when the Sharks visit the Stormers.  Sharks Director of Rugby Gary Gold named Kankowski at eighthman alongside Willem Alberts and Marcell Coetzee in the loose trio.  Pieter-Steph Du Toit and Lubabalo Mtyanda will scrum down behind Thomas Du Toit, captain Bismarck Du Plessis and Matt Stevens at Newlands.

Tera Mtembu, Jean Deysel, Stephan Lewies and Etienne Oosthuizen were not considered owing to various injuries but Gold says:  ‘”We are in a fortunate position that we have experienced Springbok players that have either recovered from injury or have returned from Japan.  We are excited to have them back and involved in our matchday squad.  We also have commitments to SA Rugby to rest selected players.’  Cobus Reinach and Patrick Lambie will do duty at halfback with Francois Steyn and JP Pietersen in the midfield.  SP Marais, Lwazi Mvovo and Odwa Ndungane will make up the back three.

Gold added:  ‘”The Stormers are the in-form team in South Africa at present and we playing them in front of their passionate home crowd. We are under no illusions about how tough the challenge is going to be. This probably is going to be a tougher battle than last week. Our squad has had a good training week and are determined to get our campaign back on a winning track.”  Over the years the two sides have met on 23 occasions with 12 wins for the Cell C Sharks and 11 for the Cape side.  In fact so tight has this contest been that the aggregate score over this period is an incredible 475-474 to the Durban franchise.


16. Kyle Cooper
17. Dale Chadwick 
18. Lourens Adriaanse 
19. Marco Wentzel 
20. Renaldo Bothma
21. Conrad Hoffmann
22. Andre Esterhuizen
23. Jack Wilson