Sharks Name Squad For Waratahs

The Sharks have named their match day squad for Saturday’s Vodacom Super Rugby match against the Waratahs in Sydney.  Lwazi Mvovo, Odwa Ndungane and S’bura Sithole will form the back three with JP Pietersen and Frans Steyn in midfield.  Lionel Cronje and Stefan Ungerer make up the halfback pairing.

Director of Rugby Gary Gold says:  ‘They’re a very physical team, probably the most physical Australian team.  We saw what the Force did to them on the weekend by matching them from a physical point of view, so that’s the challenge for us.’  Gold has gone for Renaldo Bothma, Etienne Oosthuizen and Marcell Coetzee as his loose trio with captain Marco Wentzel and Stephan Lewies scrumming down behind Jannie Du Plessis, Bismarck Du Plessis and Tendai Mtawarira.  Gold says:  ‘With the likes of Beale, Folau and Ashley-Cooper, they have some fantastic play-makers in their backline and a big strong pack.  They move the ball well so we’re really going to have to get our defensive shape right.’

Over the years the Sydneysiders hold the edge 11-7 over the Durban side in 19 meetings, with one draw.  The replacements is as follows:

16. Franco Marais
17. Dale Chadwick 
18. Lourens Adriaanse 
19. Mouritz Botha 
20. Kyle Cooper
21. Conrad Hoffmann
22. Andre Esterhuizen
23. Waylon Murray