Sharks Name Match Day Squad

Gary Gold has named his Sharks match day squad for the Vodacom Super Rugby tie against the Bulls in Durban on Saturday.  Odwa Ndungane, S’bura Sithole and Lwazi Mvovo make up the back three with Waylon Murray and Andre Esterhuizen in midfield.  Fred Zeilinga and Cobus Reinach continue as the half-back pairing.

Renaldo Bothma, Willem Alberts and Marcell Coetzee form the loose trio with captain Marco Wentzel and Mouritz Botha scrumming down behind Jannie Du Plessis, Franco Marais and Tendai Mtawarira.  Gold’s charges are looking to bounce back after a series of poor results has seen them slip to fourth in the South African Conference.

Over the years the Pretoria franchise leads the head-to-head meetings between these sides 14-9, with two draws.  The last time the pair met in Durban, it was the Cell C Sharks that emerged victorious 31-14.


16. Monde Hadebe
17. Thomas Du Toit 
18. Lourens Adriaanse 
19. Lubabalo Mtyanda 
20. Etienne Oosthuizen
21. Conrad Hoffmann
22. Lionel Cronje
23. SP Marais