Shakes Mashaba Retains Dean Furman As Captain

Bafana Bafana coach Shakes Mashaba made three changes to the starting XI that defeated Sudan 2-1 at the weekend in Durban to ensure qualification into the CAF Africa Cup of Nations Equatorial Guinea 2015 tournament.  South Africa faces Nigeria in their final qualifier on Wednesday night at the Akwa Ibom Stadium in Uyo, Nigeria.  Kick-off is at 19:00 South African time.

Mashaba has brought in Tefu Mashamaite for Rivaldo Coetzee, Reneilwe Letsholonyane replaces Andile Jali and Mandla Masango takes the place of the injured Thulani Serero.  Serero will be watching from the stands due to a hamstring injury that saw him substituted in the victory over Sudan where he was named Man of the Match performance.  The Ajax Amsterdam midfielder missed two training sessions (Monday in Johannesburg and Tuesday in Uyo, Nigeria) and was ruled out of the match.

Darren Keet retains his place in goals while the defence will be manned by Erick Mathoho, Anele Ngcongca and Sibusiso Khumalo.  Dean Furman will captain the side with Oupa Manyisa taking the other position in midfield.  The strike force of Tokelo Rantie and Bongani Ndulula remains unchanged.

Mathoho, Ngcongca, Furman, Manyisa, Masango and Ndulula are the only players who started against the same Nigeria in Cape Town two months ago.  Coetzee and Jali will be on the bench together with Lehlohonolo Majoro who has shaken off the ankle injury that saw him ruled out of the Sudan clash, as well as Kermit Erasmus who was in the stands in the last match.  Also on the bench are Brilliant Khuzwayo, Ntsikelelo Nyauza and Themba Zwane.

Moeketsi Sekola will sit out this match after he was named on the bench and made his debut against Sudan.  Ndulula, Furman and Mathoho have started all the matches in the qualifiers, but Furman, Jali and Mathoho have played every minute before the Nigeria clash.  Rantie could have started in all the matches had he not come off the bench in the goalless draw against the Super Eagles in Cape Town.

Bafana Bafana starting XI vs Nigeria: Darren Keet (GK), Eric Mathoho, Tefu Mashamaite, Sibusiso Khumalo, Anele Ngcongca, Oupa Manyisa, Dean Furman (Cap), Reneilwe Letsholonyane, Mandla Masango, Tokelo Rantie, Bongani Ndulula

Substitutes: Brilliant Khuzwayo (GK), Ntsikelelo Nyauza, Rivaldo Coetzee, Andile Jali, Kermit Erasmus, Themba Zwane, Lehlohonolo Majoro