Sehwag Century Fires Kings XI Punjab Into IPL 2014 Final

Kings XI Punjab advanced to their first ever Indian Premier League final thanks to a spectacular Virender Sehwag 122 that guided his side to a 24-run victory over the Chennai Super Kings at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Friday.  Chennai won the toss and chose to field.  Punjab openers Sehwag and Manan Vohra put on a terrific 110-run partnership to take their side to 109/0 before Vohra departed off the bowling of Ishwar Pandey (1/35) leaving them on 110/1.

In came Glen Maxwell who played a decent cameo making 13 runs before he departed bringing in David Miller.  Sehwag (122) brought up his second IPL century in blistering fashion off 50 balls and put on another good partnership (63 runs off 51 balls) with Miller to help the Kings XI over the 200 mark before he departed, caught brilliantly by Faf Du Plessis at extra cover bringing in Wriddhiman Saha.

The skipper George Bailey was the next to go followed by Miller (38) who was spectacularly run out by MS Dhoni.  Punjab posted a formidable 226/6.

In reply CSK lost the early wicket of Du Plessis but recovered superbly as Suresh Raina hit a half century as the Super Kings scored 100 runs in the first six overs.  The men in yellow were well above the required run rate and looked like they would successfully chase down the total but Dwayne Smith (7) departed followed by Raina (87) who was terrifically run out by Kings XI skipper Bailey, leaving Chennai on 100/3.

The next men in struggled to put considerable partnerships together as the wickets tumbled.  CSK lost Brendon McCullum(11), Ravindra Jadeja (27), Michael Hussey (1) and Ravichandran Ashwin (10) as they ended their 20 overs on 202/7, 24 runs shy.  Bailey and his charges advance to their first ever IPL final against Kolkata Knight Riders on Sunday.  The Man of the Match award went to Virender Sehwag for his 122 off 58 balls.