Scotland Announce Cricket World Cup Squad

Cricket Scotland’s selectors have named their final squad of 15 players to compete in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 in New Zealand and Australia.  Scotland will start its Group A campaign on 17 February against hosts New Zealand, in what is now a sold out fixture, in Dunedin.  All of the selected members of the squad previously travelled to Australia and New Zealand for an acclimatisation tour back in September/October 2014.

Preston Mommsen will lead Scotland to its third World Cup campaign, and will be determined to help secure its first win on the global stage, while looking to boostits current One-Day International ranking of 14th in the world.  Head Coach Grant Bradburn said, “It is great to announce our squad for the Cricket World Cup, and it is a fantastic achievement for the players to be named in the final 15.  They have all worked hard over a long period of time, as they continue to do out here in Dubai during the current Tri Series.  There is so much natural ability in this squad and we go to the World Cup aiming to do what no other squad has done before and win games of cricket.”

Scotland’s Final 15-man CWC squad:

Preston Mommsen (captain),
Kyle Coetzer (vice-captain),
Richie Berrington,
Frederick Coleman,
Matthew Cross,
Joshua Davey,
Alasdair Evans,
Hamish Gardiner,
Majid Haq,
Michael Leask,
Matt Machan,
Calum MacLeod,
Safyaan Sharif,
Robert Taylor,
Iain Wardlaw.