Sangakarra Bows Out With World T20 Title

Kumar Sangakarra bowed out of T20 Internationals with an unbeaten on 52 to lead Sri Lanka to the ICC World Twenty20 title with a six wicket victory over India in Mirpur on Sunday.  The Indians, who were put in to bat by the Sri Lankans, lost Ajinkya Rahane (3) early leaving then 4/1 bringing in star performer Virat Kohli.

Rohit Sharma and Kohli took the men in blue to 64/1 before Sharma (29) hit one straight to mid off.  Yuvraj Singh joined Kohli at the crease putting on a 50 partnership (39) to take them to 119/2 before he departed for 11.  Indian skipper MS Dhoni (4 not out) and Kohli took India to 130/3 before the latter was run out with India ending their 20 overs on 130/4.

Sri Lanka lost Kusal Perera (5) early on with their score on 5/1.  The Indians began to take control and got the wickets of Tillakaratne Dilshan (18), Mahela Jayawardene (24) and Lihiru Thirimanne (7) with the Sri Lankans eventually needing 53 runs off 42 balls and the match in a delicate position.

Thisara Perera (21 not out) and Kumar Sangakarra (52 not out) were the new men at the crease and they not only steadied the innings but saw the Lankan Lions over the line winning by six wickets with 13 balls still remaining.  The man of the match award went to Kumar Sangakarra for his 52 not out while Virat Kohli’s 319 runs saw him scoop the player of the rournament accolade.