SA Men’s Hockey Team Named

The South African men’s hockey selectors have named two goalkeepers, five defenders, five midfielders and six strikers to do battle in the Greenfields Africa Hockey Championships, which take place from this Friday to Sunday, November 1 at Randburg Hockey Stadium.  The 18 players were named Wednesday after the SA men’s squad concluded a training camp in Johannesburg.  SA men’s selection convenor Allistar Fredericks said it was always sad to have to leave players out.

The Atlanta 1996 Olympian says:  ‘We have gone for experience in the main so a number of talented youngsters can consider themselves unfortunate in some respects.  We have also been faced with a situation where a number of our players who ply their trade with overseas clubs were not released for contractual reasons.’  The selection head said the most important thing was for the SA men to get over the Africa hurdle – and that would be achieved by retaining the continental title in this Rio 2016 Olympic Games qualifier event.  

Fredericks believes the selectors have succeeded in putting together a nicely balanced team:  ‘We have a superb group of forwards, a solid and creative midfield as well as arguably the strongest group of defenders we have had for some time.  I am excited to see what the team can produce.’  The SA men kick off their Africa campaign against Zimbabwe at 19:00 Friday on the Randburg Hockey Stadium turf.  The SA women’s opening match is on Saturday.

Goalkeepers: Rassie Pieterse (Southern Gauteng); Jacques Le Roux (Western Province)
Defenders: Daniel Bell, Rhett Halkett, Dylan Swanepoel (WP); Matt Guise-Brown (Northern Blues); Jethro Eustice (SG)
Midfielders: Dan Sibbald, Jonty Robinson (KZN Coastal Raiders); Miguel Da Graca (SG); Wade Paton, Tim Drummond (WP)
Forwards: Julian Hykes, Brandon Panther (SG); Natius Malgraff (Eastern Province); Richard Pautz (NB); Pierre De Voux, Lloyd Norris-Jones (WP)

Non-travelling reserves
Goalkeeper: Gowan Jones (KZR)
Defenders: Mohammed Mea (KZR), Gareth Heyns (SG)
Midfielders: Charlie Bowren (WP Peninsula), Reza Rosenberg (SG)
Forwards: Stephen Cant (NB), Damian Kimfley (KZN Inland)


Randburg Hockey Stadium

Fri, Oct 23: SA vs Zimbabwe (19:00)
Sat, Oct 24: SA vs Botswana (16:45)
Tues, Oct 27: SA vs Ghana (19:00)
Thurs, Oct 29: SA vs Namibia (19:00)
Sat, Oct 31: Semi-finals 14:00 and 16:00
Sun, Nov 1: 3rd/4th place (14:00); Final (16:30)