Rajasthan Overcomes Delhi

Tim Southee hit a last ball boundry as the Rajasthan Royals defeated the Delhi Daredevils by 3 wickets in a thrilling match at the Feroz Shah Kotla on Sunday.  The Royals won the toss and elected the Daredevils to bat first.  The Daredevils got off to a great start as Mayank Agarwal (37) and Shreyas Iyer (40) distributed the Royals bowling all over the park before they were dismissed by Pravin Tambe and Chris Morris respectively after 12 overs.

Yuvraj Singh (27) and Angelo Mathews (27) cameoed to push the hosts past the 180-mark before captain JP Duminy (44) finished strong with a couple of sixes for the Daredevils as the hosts ended with 184/3 in 20 overs.  The first wicket to fall was Sanju Samson (11) at the hands of Angelo Mathews.  Ajinkya Rahane (45) and the 19-year old Deepak Hooda (54) were key for the visitors as great batting helped the Royals claw their way back into the match.

Imran Tahir produced a great bowling display to finish with outstanding figures of 4/28 however it wasn’t enough as the Royals required 12 to get off the final over.  The visitors needed three from the final ball and Southee showed great composure at the end to hit the ball between cover and long off for four and secure the dramatic win for Rajasthan.  The loss was the Delhi Daredevil’s eighth loss in a row at home and eleventh overall consecutive defeat.