Pumas Make Wholesale Changes

Argentina head coach Daniel Hourcade has rung the changes for Friday’s Rugby World Cup bronze medal match against South Africa at the Olympic Stadium.  Hourcade has made nine changes from the side that lost to Australia in the semi-finals.  The only personnel to retain their places are Marcos Ayerza, Ramiro Herrera, Thomas Lavanini, Juan Fernandez Lobbe, and Nicolas Sanchez Cordero Santiago.  Sanchez will captain Los Pumas.

The history between the Argentines and Springboks denotes a wide supremacy by the Africans.  In 21 games played, the Boks have triumphed on 19 occasions, having drawn once and just the lone win for the South Americans coming as recently as this year’s Rugby Championship in Durban.  On that day Hourcade’s men ran out 37-25 victors.

At the World Cup, Argentina and South Africa have met just once previously.  That was the 2007 semi-final won comfortably by the green and gold jerseys 37-13.

The Argentina match day squad is as follows:

1- Marcos Ayerza
2- Julián Montoya
3- Ramiro Herrera
4- Matías Alemanno
5- Tomás Lavanini
6- Javier Ortega Desio
7- Juan Martín Fernández Lobbe
8- Juan Manuel Leguizamón
9- Tomás Cubelli
10- Nicolás Sánchez (Cap)
11- Horacio Agulla
12- Jerónimo De La Fuente
13- Matías Moroni
14- Santiago Cordero
15- Lucas González Amorosino


16- Lucas Noguera
17- Juan Pablo Orlandi
18- Juan Figallo
19- Guido Petti Pagadizábal
20- Facundo Isa
21- Martín Landajo
22- Santiago González Iglesias
23- Juan Pablo Socino