Platinum Stars’ Dikwena

Platinum Stars was founded in 1998 as the continuation of Khakhu Fast XI, which was an amateur club that represented Khakhu city near Polokwane.  The club is currently based in Rustenburg and is owned by the Royal Bafokeng Nation.  The Tycoons, as they were nicknamed when still known as Silver Stars, gained promotion to the Absa Premiership in 2003 after four seasons in the National First Division.  It did not take long for Stars to gain success as they won the Telkom Knockout in 2006.

After a name change, the club’s nickname also changed to Dikwena in 2010 and the club had one of its best league campaign’s in the 2012/13 season when Cavin Johnson nearly guided Stars to the Premiership title as they finished second in the league, only losing out to Kaizer Chiefs by a solitary point.  Dikwena did win the MTN 8 and the Telkom Knockout Cup in 2013 under new coach Alan Freese beating Orlando Pirates in both finals.

The 2014/15 season proved to be a disappointing one for the Phokeng club, as they flirted with relegation but managed to pick up enough points to finish 11th in the league and did not fair any better in the cup competitions either.  Platinum Stars have added a host of new signings in preparation for the upcoming season with Johnson back at the helm.  Bouna Coundoul, Mbongeni Mzimela, Sibusiso Gumede, Siyabonga Zulu and Khulekani Madondo have all joined the club.*
Charles Baloyi, Kobamelo Kodisang and Cyril Chibwe have also been promoted to the first team from the club’s development academy, while Bonginkosi Ntuli has joined Stars on a season-long loan from Mamelodi Sundowns.  Thus far Patrick Malokase has been the only departure from the Rustenburg-based club.  Stars kick off their season at home to Sundowns on the 8th of August.
*Correct as at 4 August 2015