Pakistan Name Cricket World Cup Squad

Pakistan has named its 15-man squad to do duty at the Cricket World Cup in Australasia starting on February 14th.  The squad contains two openers, four middle order batsmen, five pace bowlers, one spinner, two all-rounders and a wicket-keeper/batsman.  Pakistan Cricket Board chairman Shaharyar Mohammad Khan has approved the squad after it was picked up by the six-member selection committee headed by Moin Khan after consultations with head coach Waqar Younis and skipper Misbah-ul-Haq.

“This is the best possible squad from the available resources, and the selectors believe it has the requisite talent and skill-set to recapture the World Cup Down Under after 22 years.  My request to all Pakistanis is to back the national team in its quest for glory.  Four factors were of prime import for selectors: Suitability to play in conditions in Australia and New Zealand; performance in international contests; performance in domestic cricket and preference to the choices suggested by captain and head coach, Team Pakistan.  Of the selected squad of 15, eight have played in the last World Cup, while the remaining seven have been picked after their recent form impressed the selectors.  This makes it a pretty decent blend of experience and youth.  Despite a recent poor run of form in limited-overs cricket, in my mind, there’s no doubt on the capability of this side to excelling in the World Cup.  It indeed is a formidable unit, with the potential and natural flair to perform well at the ICC’s premier global showpiece event.  And if the boys hit form individually and as combinations and peak at the right time, this bunch has the capacity to go all the way to the winners’ podium,” said chief selector Khan.  To fine-tune preparations for the global event, PCB has decided to organize a short training camp for  Pakistan, which has been scheduled from January 13 to January 17 at the Gaddafi stadium, Lahore.  Pakistan will embark from Lahore on January 21 for New Zealand via Dubai for the two-match ODI series against the Black Caps before flying over Tasman Sea to Sydney for its warm-up games before moving on to Adelaide for its much-anticipated first World Cup 2015 encounter against India on February 15.

15 – Member Squad:
1. Ahmed Shehzad
2. Ehsan Adil
3. Mohammad Hafeez
4. Haris Sohail
5. Mohammad Irfan
6. Junaid Khan
7. Misbah-ul-Haq(captain)
8. Sarfraz Ahmed (w.k)
9. Shahid Afridi
10. Sohaib Maqsood
11. Sohail Khan
12. Umar Akmal
13. Wahab Riaz
14. Yasir Shah
15. Younis Khan