New Zealand Announce Cricket World Cup Squad

New Zealand has today announced its squad of 15 players for the ICC Cricket World Cup to be held in New Zealand over February and March.  Coach Mike Hesson announced the squad at Hagley Oval at 5pm on Wednesday.   Hesson said that it was all about finding the right balance, “There were some hard decisions to make, but we’re pleased with the overall 15 we’ve chosen.  A lot of bowlers have performed brilliantly for us over the past couple of seasons, which certainly made it difficult, but we think we have the right mix.  Our batting unit has good depth and Grant’s  (Elliott) inclusion assures us strong cover in the middle order.  He brings a lot of experience and his record in New Zealand and Australia conditions is excellent.”

The Black Caps’ first match of the tournament is against Sri Lanka on 14 February at Hagley Oval.

New Zealand ICC Cricket World Cup Squad:

Brendon McCullum (captain) 
Corey Anderson 
Trent Boult 
Grant Elliott 
Martin Guptill
Tom Latham 
Mitchell McClenaghan
Nathan McCullum
Kyle Mills 
Adam Milne
Luke Ronchi
Tim Southee
Ross Taylor 
Dan Vettori
Kane Williamson

Photo: Adam Milne
Photo credit: Hagen Hopkins-Getty Images

One thought on “New Zealand Announce Cricket World Cup Squad

  • March 12, 2015 at 11:43 am

    I lillratey jumped out of my chair and danced after reading this!

Comments are closed.