New Proteas: Stiaan Van Zyl And Dane Piedt

Cricket South Africa (CSA) on Tuesday named Stiaan Van Zyl and Dane Piedt as new caps in the Proteas Test match squad for the tour to Sri Lanka next month while Beuran Hendricks has been included in the ODI squad for the first time.  Quinton De Kock and Kyle Abbott, who were not in the original squad for the Test Series against Australia but were called up as injury replacements, have been retained and there is also a recall for Imran Tahir.  The players to drop out of the Test squad are Thami Tsolekile, Rory Kleinveldt, Ryan McLaren and Robin Peterson while Graeme Smith has retired.

Hendricks made his debut for the Proteas in the T20 Series against Australia and also went to the ICC World Twenty20 that followed.  He now makes his 50 overs debut in the place of Lonwabo Tsotsobe who is recovering from surgery and could not be considered.  The other changes see Faf Du Plessis take the place of the retired Smith and Aaron Phangiso added as a second spinner.

“Van Zyl and Piedt have been outstanding throughout the Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras’ successful Sunfoil Series campaign, finishing up as leading runs scorer and wicket-taker respectively.  This emphasizes once again the consistent route the selectors have always followed to recognise form through the pipeline path of franchise and South Africa A performance.  The tour to Sri Lanka obviously has different tactical considerations to a home series and that required us to alter the balance between our seam and spin bowling options.  These two squads are well equipped to take us forward as on the one hand we endeavour to regain the world No. 1 Test ranking and on the other to have a successful run-up to next year’s ICC World Cup,” commented CSA selection convener Andrew Hudson.