Mumbai Indians Win 2015 IPL

The Mumbai Indians thrashed the Chennai Super Kings by 41 runs as they posted 202/5 in the first innings to be crowned the 2015 IPL champions.  Mumbai batted first and subsequently lost Parthiv Patel with the first ball of the game.  Patel let lose and wanted an early run,

Faf Du Plessis had other ideas as he picked up the ball and targeted the stump and Patel was short and thus sent back up the stairs for a duck.  Lendl Simmons joined Rohit Sharma at the crease. The two batsmen paced through the overs, posting fours along the way.

The grip was lost in the 11th over after Rohit went down on one knee and swept a slow delivery.  He didn’t quite connect with the ball, which ended up being stuck in mid air and Ravindra Jadeja was on hand to take the catchl.  In the next over Simmons joined him up in the box after he mistimed Dwayne Smith’s delivery which hit the stumps.

Kieron Pollard and Ambati Rayudu were the next pair to put on a stand for the champions as they posted 62 runs together.  The partnership was interrupted when Pollard took a walk after being caught by Suresh Raina in the 18th over.  Moments later Raina sent Hardik Pandya back upstairs when he caught him out for a duck.

MS Dhoni’s men needed 203 runs to win the match but could they do it?  No team has successfully chased more than 200 run in an IPL encounter.  The daunting target became too much for Dhoni’s men as they fell to 161/8 in their innings.

It was through grace that they did not find themselves all bowled out as Lasith Malinga and Mitchell McClenaghan led a bowling roster that was simply too much for Rohit and his men.

One thought on “Mumbai Indians Win 2015 IPL

  • May 26, 2015 at 12:33 am

    Hearty congratulations to Mumbai Indians. Well played.

Comments are closed.