Mumbai Defeats Delhi

The Mumbai Indians moved up to fourth on the IPL standings after recording a five-wicket victory over the Delhi Daredevils at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on Tuesday.  The Daredevils won the toss and elected to bat first.  Mayank Agarwal and JP Duminy got the innings under way, however it was Mumbai who got off to the perfect start – Lasith Malinga dismissing Agarwal for a diamond duck with the matches first ball.

Duminy (28) was joined by Shreyas Iyer in the centre, with the pair adding 43 runs before Iyer’s attempted slog could only find the top edge and was easily caught by Vinay Kumar.  Daredevils’ captain Duminy was the third wicket to fall as the hosts were 50/3 after 6.4 overs.  Kedar Jadhav (16) and Yuvraj Singh were next up in the centre and their  partnership eased the fall of wickets for a number of overs before Jadhav was removed as Harbhajan Singh claimed his second wicket of the match.

Angelo Mathews (12) and Saurabh Tiwary (13 not out) cameoed, yet it was Yuvraj Singh’s 57 from 44 balls, which was aided by seven fours and two sixes, which added much needed runs on the board as the visitors finished their 20 overs with a score of 152/6.  Mumbai began the run-chase with Lendl Simmons and Parthiv Patel however they lost their opener Simmons in the first over to Zaheer Khan via lbw.  Hardik Pandya (5), Parthiv Patel (13) and Harbhajan Singh had short-lived stays at the crease as Mumbai’s chase struggled to gain momentum (40/4).  Rohit Sharma (46) and Ambati Rayudu came to the rescue for the hosts, putting a combined score of 70 before the captain was bowled out by Amit Mishra with four overs remaining.

Kieron Pollard (26 not out) partnered Rayudu (49 not out) and the pair went unbeaten as they continued the chase needing eight runs to win from the final over, and Pollard duly delivered as he scored the winning runs with three balls to spare.