Los Pumas Win Battle Of The Cats

Argentina wrapped up its Rugby World Cup preparations with a 55-34 triumph over English Premiership club, Leicester Tigers, on Saturday at Welford Road.  Daniel Hourcade’s men ran in nine tries as the South Americans proved far too strong for the English side.  Four of Los Pumas’ tries came in the first half.  First over the line was Santiago Cordero while Marcelo Bosch finished off an excellent team move.  Juan Imhoff and an interception by Nicolas Sanchez rounded off a great first forty for the Argentines.

At the break Hourcade’s men were up 28-10 and in total control.  The Pumas boss changed his team almost entirely (Julian Montoya was the only man to play the full 80 minutes) to make sure all his players saw action before the World Cup kicks off.  The Tigers had clawed back to within six points (38-32) with 15 minutes to play before the Rugby Championship side let loose again.  

Montoya, Horacio Agulla, Juan Pablo Socino, Juan Manuel Leguizamon and a second try by Agulla put the match to bed.  The last three of those tries arrived in the last seven minutes to complete a good work out for Argentina before the main event kicks off in just under two weeks.

Los Pumas: 1- Marcos Ayerza, 2- Julián Montoya, 3- Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 4- Guido Petti, 5- Tomás Lavanini, 6- Juan Fernández Lobbe, 7- Javier Ortega Desio, 8- Facundo Isa, 9-Tomás Cubelli (c), 10- Nicolás Sánchez, 11- Juan Imhoff, 12-Juan Martín Hernández, 13- Marcelo Bosch, 14- Santiago Cordero, 15- Joaquín Tuculet.

Replacements: 16- Lucas Noguera, 17- Juan Pablo Orlandi, 18-Matías Alemanno, 10- Mariano Galarza, 20- Juan Manuel Leguizamón, 21- Martín Landajo, 22- Santiago González Iglesias, 23- Lucas González Amorosino, 24- Leonardo Senatore, 25-Pablo Matera, 26- Jerónimo De la Fuente, 27- Matías Moroni, 28- Juan Pablo Socino y 29- Horacio Agulla

Leicester Tigers: 1- Riccardo Brugnara, 2- Greg Bateman, 3-Tiziano Pasquali; 4- Joe Maksymiw, 5- Sebastian de Chaves; 6-Mike Fitzgerald, 7- Will Owen, 8- Laurence Pearce; 9- Sam Harrison, 10- Tommy Bell; 11- Gonzalo Camacho, 12- George Catchpole, 13- Christian Loamanu, 14- Peter Betham; 15-Mathew Tait (c)

Replacements: Fraser Balmain, Charlie Beckett, Will Evans, Jake Farnworth, Owen Hills, Graham Kitchener, Lachlan McCaffrey, Ed Milne, Matt Parr, Oliver Povoas, Harry Thacker, Harry Wells, Seremaia Bai, Oli Bryant, Freddie Burns, Paolo Odogwu, Matt Smith, Adam Thompstone, George Tresidder, Ben White, George Worth.