Lewis Hamilton Wins Canadian Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton claimed his fourth career Canadian Grand Prix in 1:31:53.145 on Sunday, finishing two seconds ahead of teammate Nico Rosberg in Montreal.  The Mercedes pair controlled the circuit from start to finish, with Hamilton leading the way from when the lights went off to eventually lifting the trophy.  There was no contest on the day as the Briton, who led from pole position, dominated all the while his technical team radioed him at almost every turn to remind him of the strategy.

The notable dual was for the fifth and sixth position which was won by Sebastian Vettel.  The former four-time world champion jumped from 18th to fifth while Felipe Massa passed through from 16th to sixth.  Valtteri Bottas managed to be the first driver of the season outside of Mercedes and Ferrari to make a podium finish after he rounded up the top three when he drove past Kimi Raikkonen, after the Finn spun at the hairpin to allow Bottas pass him.

The 2007 champion would finish the race in fourth place.  The win moves Hamilton 17 points clear from Rosberg on the F1 Drivers’ Championship table, and makes him the fifth-best F1 racer on the all-time with his 37th first-place finish.

Summary of results:

1. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:31:53.145
2. Nico Rosberg Mercedes +00:02.285
3. Valtteri Bottas Williams-Mercedes 00:40.666
4. Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 00:45.625
5. Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 00:49.903
6. Felipe Massa Williams-Mercedes 00:56.381
7. Pastor Maldonado Lotus – Mercedes 01:06.664
8. Nico Huelkenberg Force India – Mercedes 1 lap
9. Daniil Kvyat RedBull – Renault 1 lap
10. Romain Grosjean Lotus – Mercedes 1 lap
11. Sergio Perez Force India – Mercedes 1 lap
12. Carlos Sainz Jr Toro Rosso – Renault 1 lap
13. Daniel Ricciardo RedBull – Renault 1 lap
14. Marcus Ericsson Sauber – Ferrari 1 lap
15. Max Verstappen Toro Rosso – Renault 1 lap
16. Felipe Nasr Sauber – Ferrari 2 laps
17. Will Stevens Marussia – Ferrari 4 laps
R. Roberto Merhi Marussia – Ferrari 13 laps
R. Jenson Button McLaren 16 laps
R. Fernando Alonso McLaren 26 laps

Fastest Lap: Kimi Raikkonen,1:16.987, lap 42.