Lewis Hamilton Wins British Grand Prix

Lewis Hamiton held off teammate Nico Rosberg to become the first Briton to win the British Grand Prix from pole position at Silverstone since 1994.  The Mercedes dominance continued as Hamilton and Rosberg took first and second pole position in qualifying.  A brilliant start from the Williams drivers saw Felipe Massa sneak past Hamilton, and Valtteri Bottas overtake Rosberg to snatch first and third place.

Jenson Button of Mc:aren, Romain Grosjean of Lotus, Max Verstappen of Toro Rosso and Felipe Nasr of Sauber-Ferarri were the first drivers to retire after a collision in the opening of the race.  After the safety car restart, an over aggressive move from Hamilton saw him being overtaken by Bottas.  A brilliant pit stop by Mercedes saw Hamilton regain the lead on the 21st lap putting Bottas in second.

Australian driver Daniel Ricciardo of Red Bull’s race came to an end on the 23rd lap due to a mechanical issue.  Sebastian Vettel of Ferrari took third place ahead of Massa.  Bottas had to settle for fifth place.

After a horrible start, the Mercedes drivers managed to regain their qualifying positions in the latter stages of the race.  A late attack by Rosberg wasn’t enough as Hamilton claimed honors at Silverstone.