Leicester City’s Foxes

Leicester City, a club that conquered the Championship in definite style in 2013/14, becoming only the fifth team to pass the 100-point mark in the second tier, scoring 83 goals and winning 31 matches in the process, will being a second straight season in the Premier League for the first time since the 1990s.  Known as the Foxes, the club enjoyed something of a heyday under Martin O’Neill in the mid- to late 90s when they enjoyed six successive seasons in the top flight and won two League Cups in the process (1997 & 2000).  Founded in 1884 as Leicester Fosse, the club changed its name to Leicester City in 1919.

Leicester’s highest ever finish was second place in the top flight, in Division One in 1928/29.  City has been FA Cup runners-up on four occasions and holds the dubious tournament record for the most defeats in the final without having won the competition.  The club hit a low as recently as 2008/09 when it was relegated to League One, but managed to bounce back swiftly.

The East Midlands club pulled off one of the most memorable great escapes in Premier League history last season under Nigel Pearson.  The Foxes were on the verge of being relegated when they were defeated by Tottenham Hotspur on 21 March and rooted to the bottom of the table, seven points adrift of safety.  However, after losing to Spurs, Leicester’s luck changed and Pearson’s side produced an incredible turnaround, winning seven of its last nine fixtures to secure safety with a match to spare.

Pearson has since departed the King Power Stadium and has been replaced by experienced Italian Claudio Ranieri, who once bossed Chelsea.  To bolster the squad Shinji Okazaki, Christian Fuchs and Robert Huth have joined the club.  Chris Wood, Zoumana Bakayogo, Paul Gallagher, Conrad Logan, Gary Taylor-Fletcher and Matthew Upson have departed the club.*

*Transfers correct as at 29 July 2015