Kohli And Sharma Guide India to Victory

Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma led India to a seven wicket win over the West Indies in their ICC World Twenty20 Group 2 encounter at the Shere Bangla Natoinal Stadium in Mirpur on Sunday.  India won the toss and chose field.  The Windies opening pair of Chris Gayle and Dwayne Smith struggled to get going taking them to 34/0 before Smith departed for 11.

The Gayle Force (34) did not manage to cut loose and was eventually run out by Mohammad Shami (0-27) leaving his side on 62/2.  Marlon Samuels (18), Dwayne Bravo (0) and the skipper Darren Sammy (11) soon followed with the men from the Caribbean on 97/5.
Andre Russell (7) and Lendl Simmons (27) managed to get them to 108/5 before they both departed.  Sunil Narine (7 not out) and Dinesh Ramdin (0 not out) were the last men at the crease and saw the West Indians to the end of their 20 overs on 129/7.

The Men in Blue were one down in the first over losing Shikhar Dhawan (0) leaving them on 1/1.  Kohli joined Sharma at the crease and they took India to 105/1 before Kohli departed for 53.  Yuvraj Singh and Sharma (62 not out) took the Indians to within a n inch of victory at 129/3 before Singh departed for ten bringing in Suresh Raina (4 not out) who hit the winning runs as India ran out winners by seven wickets with two balls to spare.  The man of the match award went to Amit Mishra for his 2-18.