Kohli Leads India To Victory

India cruised past Pakistan by seven wickets in their ICC World Twenty20 opening match at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur on Friday.  The Indians won the toss and chose to field.  The Pakistani innings got off to a slow start with them losing the early wicket of Kamran Akmal (8) with the score on 9/1.  Mohammad Hafeez joined Ahmed Shehzad and took Pakistan to 43/1 before the skipper Hafeez (15) was caught at deep cover by Bhuvaneshwar Kumar (1-21).  Shehzad was stumped by MS Dhoni and departed for 22.  In came Shoaib Malik and with Umar Akmal put on a 50 partnership taking Pakistan to 97/3 before Malik was caught in the deep leaving them on 97/4. The wickets of Umar Akmal (33) and Shahid Afridi (8) followed leaving Pakistan on 114/6.  The partnership of Bilawal Bhatti and Shoaib Maqsood, who took the attack to the Indian bowlers in the last overs of the match, brought their innings to an end on 130/7.

The Indian openers Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma put on a 50 partnership off 46 balls and took them to 54/0 before Dhawan (30) departed bringing in Virat Kohli.  Kohli and Sharma took them to 64/1 before Sharma was castled by Saeed Ajmal (1-18).  Yuvraj Singh was the next to the crease only managing one run.  Suresh Raina (35 not out) joined Kohli (36 not out) and they brought up their 50 partnership off 39 balls and saw India home by seven wickets with nine balls to spare.  The man of the match award went to Amit Mishra for his performance with the ball.