Kohli Leads India To T20 Final

Virat Kohli scored 72 not out to help India advance into the final of the ICC World Twenty20 with a nine wicket victory over South Africa at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur on Friday.  The South Africans won the toss and chose to bat losing the early wicket of Quinton De Kock (6) leaving them 9/1.  The skipper Faf Du Plessis joined Hashim Amla at the crease and took them to 44/1 before Amla (22) was castled by Ravichandran Ashwin (3/22).

JP Duminy joined his skipper at the crease and they found their rhythm playing some intelligent cricket to get them to 115/2 before they lost Du Plessis (58) bringing in AB De Villiers.  AB only managed 10 runs before heading back to the hut with his side on 129/4.  David Miller (23 not out) was the next man out and with Duminy (45 not out) helped the South Africans to 172/4 at the end of the 20 overs.

The Indian openers Rohit Sharma and Ajinkya Rahane got them off to a flyer reaching 33/0 before Sharma departed for 24.  The dangerous Virat Kohli joined Rahane at the crease getting them to 75/1 before Rahane (32) was dismissed by Wayne Parnell (1-33).  Yuvraj Singh was the next man to the crease but only managed 18.

Suresh Raina joined Kohli (72 not out) and played some exlosive shots to get them to 163/3 before he departed but it was too little too late for the Proteas and the Men In Blue ran out winners by a comfortable nine wickets.  They will play Sri Lanka in Sunday’s final.  The man of the match award went to Virat Kholi for his 72 not out off 44 balls.