Kaizer Chiefs Are The MTN8 Champions

Kaizer Chiefs beat Orlando Pirates 1-0 in the 2014 MTN8 final at the Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban on Saturday.  The two Soweto giants were out to rewrite their names in the history book.  Stuart Baxter’s men were looking to win their second top eight title as Pirates were hoping to scoop their third.

There was a lively start to the match with both sides playing to the rhythm and roar of a packed stadium.  Amakhosi were the first to show eagerness in front of goal in the tenth minute but Senzo Meyiwa was well positioned to deny them the opener.  End to end action was the
order of the day as in the 21st minute Kermit Erasmus snuck behind the Chiefs defence to set up Oupa Manyisa but Brilliant Khuzwayo showed why he is Itumeleng Khune’s understudy with a superb save.

The Glamour Bboys always looked threatening from set pieces and finally made one count in the 29th minute when Tefu Mashamaite found himself unmarked inside the area and the skipper nodded home for an opener leaving Meyiwa motionless.  Try as they did, there would be no coming back for the lacklustre Buccaneers at the end of the first 45.  The second stanza produced a money’s worth display from both sides.

Erasmus came close to finding the second goal of the match in the 51st when he unleashed a venomous shot from inside the box but the
outstanding Khuzwayo was alert to the danger.  Chiefs almost increased their lead through Kingston Nkhatha in the 59th minute but his attempt kissed the crossbar and would not have counted anyway as the flag had already gone up for offside.  The Ghost tried to glue their disjointed bones introducing former Phefeni boy Lehlohonolo Majoro but even he could not stop Khuzwayo from making the headlines as he made a series of saves to ensure the R8 million prize money sleeps at Naturena.

Despite late attempts from both sides the score line remained 1-0 in favour of Baxter’s boys at the final whistle.