Junior Squad Selected For High-Performance Training

Cycling South Africa’s Track Commission has selected a junior high-performance squad that will embark on training in preparation for this year’s UCI Juniors Track Cycling World Championships, which will take place in Astana, Kazakhstan, from 19-23 August.

Sprint Squad
Mitchell Sparrow
Wade Theunissen
Alroy Palm
Bradley Gouveris

Endurance Squad
Joshua Van Wyk
Waylin Young
Sheldon Lahner
John Vlok
Kyle De Wet
George Perrins
Alexander Parsons

Junior Women
Jen Abbott (Sprint/TT)

The riders were selected based on their local performances so far this year.  They will attend a training camp scheduled for Pretoria at the end of May to enhance their training skills and for another selection for the final team to attend the World Champs.  The Track Cycling Commission will work closely with the coaches and the riders to assess what improvements need to be made and to ensure that their training is on track.  Further to the above-mentioned squad, three additional riders have been given the opportunity to attend trials this weekend for potential entry into the squad, which would result in expansion of the squad.

The riders were injured, or ill, during the SA Championships but have shown great potential to compete at the sharp end of the sport based on their Provincial and African Championship results.