JP Duminy To Skipper SA T20 Side

JP Duminy will captain South Africa in three T20 Internationals against Australia in November.  On the fitness front, Vernon Philander, who missed the triangular ODI Series in Zimbabwe through injury, returns to the Proteas squad for the ODI Series against New Zealand and Australia, starting next month.  Philander takes the place of Mthokozisi Shezi in the only change to the squad that won the series against Zimbabwe and Australia.

Kyle Abbott retains his place as Beuran Hendricks, the man whom he replaced, remains on the sidelines with a long-term injury.  “We are very happy with the progress and momentum the team has established over the last couple of months, first in Sri Lanka and then in Zimbabwe.  “We have another 13 ODIs (three in New Zealand, five in Australia and five at home against the West Indies) before we head to the World Cup to round off our preparation,” commented Cricket South Africa (CSA) selection convener, Andrew Hudson.

ODI squad:

AB De Villiers (The Unlimited Titans, capt)
Hashim Amla (Nashua Cape Cobras, vice-capt)
Kyle Abbott (Sunfoil Dolphins)
Quinton De Kock (bizhub Highveld Lions)
JP Duminy (Cape Cobras)
Faf Du Plessis (Titans)
Imran Tahir (Dolphins)
Ryan McLaren (Dolphins)
David Miller (Dolphins)
Morne Morkel (Titans)
Wayne Parnell (Chevrolet Warriors)
Aaron Phangiso (Highveld Lions)
Vernon Philander (Cape Cobras)
Rilee Rossouw (Knights)
Dale Steyn Cape Cobras).

The selectors have also named three new caps – Reeza Hendricks, Rilee Rossouw and Kagiso Rabada – in the Proteas T20 squad for the three-match series in Australia which falls between the two ODI series.  “We have decided to rest some of our core senior players who are involved in all three formats.  It is the only opportunity we have to ease their workload in what is going to be a very busy and intense summer season.  All three have done well for South Africa A and Rossouw recently made his international ODI debut as well,” commented Hudson.  Marchant De Lange plays his first T20 International in more than two years, having recovered from a succession of injury issues.

T20 squad:

JP Duminy (Cape Cobras, capt)
Kyle Abbott (Dolphins)
Farhaan Behardien (Titans)
Quinton De Kock (Highveld Lions)
Marchant De Lange (Titans)
Reeza Hendricks (Knights)
Imran Tahir (Dolphins)
Ryan McLaren (Dolphins)
David Miller (Dolphins)
Wayne Parnell (Warriors)
Aaron Phangiso (Highveld Lions)
Kagiso Rabada (Highveld Lions)
Rilee Rossouw (Knights)
David Wiese (Titans)

 Tour itinerary


October 21: 1st ODI, Mount Maunganui
October 24: 2nd ODI, Mount Maunganui
October 27: 3rd ODI, Hamilton


November 5: 1st T20 International, Adelaide
November 7: 2nd T20 International, Melbourne
November 9: 3rd T20 International, Sydney
November 14: 1st ODI, Perth
November 16: 2nd ODI, Perth
November 19: 3rd ODI, Canberra
November 21: 4th ODI, Melbourne
November 23: 5th ODI, Sydney