Jaguares Take Positives From Stormers Loss

The Stormers defeated the Jagaures 29-14 in a Super Rugby preseason friendly at Newlands on Saturday.  In a game that saw both coaches using the maximum number of substitutes, the match was evenly contested for large parts of the 80 minutes.  The South American side fared better in the second stanza but ultimately came away losers on the day.

The Cape Town franchise outscored the Argentines four tries to two.  Jaguares eighthman Facundo Isa says:  ‘We knew it would be tough.  We had to play our system though and try to raise our game from all sides, but today it was not to be.  We remain a work in progress and it is still preseason and I think we did well.’  Isa admits that this was a step up in terms of quality he is used to:  ‘It makes us realise that this is Super Rugby, unlike anything we’ve played before and we have realised today how tough it is.’

The men from Argentina will play the Lions in Johannesburg on Friday to wrap up their preseason programme.  Fullback Joaquin Tuculet says:  ‘We started a little off the pace and it cost at times.  We do what we are asked to by the coaches and stick to the structures of attack.  We know we have a way to go still and we will need to adapt quickly at the start of the tournament.’

Head coach Raul Perez says:  ‘We came up against a tough team today which we already knew.  The rate which the game is reset the game and the speed in the transition from defence to attack are areas we will focus on this week and hope to improve upon.  Against the Lions we hope to improve our rhythm in the game.’

Starting line-ups & replacements:

Stormers: 1- Oliver Kebble, 2- Bongi Mbonambi, 3- Vincent Koch; 4- Jean Kleyn, 5- Pieter Steph Du Toit; 6- Rynhardt Eldstadt, 7- Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 8- Nizaam Carr (cap); 9- Jano Vermaak, 10-Robert Du Preez; 11- Leolin Zas, 12- Huw Jones, 13- Johnny Kotze, 14- Kobus Van Wyk; 15- Dillyn Leyds.

Replacements: Scarra Ntubeni, Michael Willemse, JC Janse Van Rensburg, JP Smith, Alistair Vermaak, Jan De Klerk, JD Schickerling, Rikus Bothma, Jurie Van Vuuren, Nic Groom, Godlen Masimla, Louis Schreuder, Kurt Coleman, Brandon Thompson, Ryan Oosthuizen, Khanyo Ngcukana.

Head Coach: Robbie Fleck

Jaguares: 1- Santiago García Botta, 2- Agustín Creevy (cap), 3- Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro; 4- Matías Alemanno, 5- Tomás Lavanini; 6- Tomás Lezana, 7- Juan Manuel Leguizamón, 8- Facundo Isa; 9- Martín Landajo, 10- Nicolás Sánchez; 11- Santiago Cordero, 12- Jerónimo de la Fuente, 13- Matías Moroni, 14- Matías Orlando; 15- Joaquín Tuculet.

Replacements: Julián Montoya, Lucas Noguera Paz, Cristian Bartoloni, Felipe Arregui, Santiago Iglesias Valdez, Felipe Ezcurra, Santiago González Iglesias, Gonzalo Bertranou, Emiliano Boffelli, Tomás Carrió, Rodrigo Báez, Javier Ortega Desio, Leonardo Senatore, Pablo Matera, Guido Petti, Ignacio Larrague, Ramiro Herrera.

Head Coach: Raúl Pérez

Photo credit: Prensa Jaguares/ Steve Haag