India Thrash Australia To Remain Unbeaten In Group 2

India remain unbeaten in Group 2 after a 73 run victory over Australia in their ICC World Twenty20 encounter at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur on Sunday.  The Australians won the toss and chose to bowl.  The Indians lost the wicket of Rohit Sharma in the first over off the bowling of Brad Hodge (1-13) leaving than at 6/1.

Virat Kohli joined Ajinkya Rahane at the crease and took the Men In Blue to 37/1 before Kohli (23) and Rahane (19) were dismissed.  Yuvraj Singh and Suresh Raina took them to 64/3 before Raina departed for six.  Singh brought up his half century and put on a 50 partnership off 32 balls with MS Dhoni to take India to 147/4.

The Indians lost the wickets of Dhoni (24), Yuvraj (60) and Ravindra Jadeja ending their innings on 159/7.  Australia lost the early wickets of Aaron Finch (6), Cameron White (0) and Shane Watson (1) leaving them 21/3.  The in-form Glen Maxwell joined David Warner at the crease taking them to 43/3 before the struggling Warner was dismissed for 19.

A complete batting collapse followed with the Baggy Greens losing Maxwell (23), George Bailey (8), Brad Haddin (6), Mitchell Starc (1), Brad Hodge (13) and James Muirhead (3) ending on 86 all out inside 20 overs.  India ran out comfortable winners by 73 runs.  The man of the match award went to Ravichandran Ashwin for his bowling performance ending with figures of 4-11.