Western Province Unchanged For Lions Meeting

DHL Western Province head coach Allister Coetzee has named an unchanged line-up for Saturday’s top-of-the-log Currie Cup clash against the Golden Lions at Newlands (kick-off 17:05).  Hookers Tiaan Liebenberg (back) and Scarra Ntubeni (calf muscle) remain sidelined, meaning Stephan Coetzee continues in the Number 2 jersey with Neil Rautenbach again warming the bench.  Centre Juan De Jongh continues to lead the team, having led WP to wins over the EP Kings (away) and the Vodacom Blue Bulls (home) thus far, with tighthead prop Pat Cilliers serving as his vice-captain once again.

Province and the Xerox Golden Lions met on three occasions in last year’s Currie Cup, with the team in Blue and White hoops winning both matches at Newlands and the teams playing to an exciting 31-31 draw in Johannesburg.  Coach Coetzee told the Western Province website, “The Lions represent a big test for us as they’re not scared to have a go with ball in hand, even from their own goalline.  I’d say they’re the overall favourites in the Absa Currie Cup.  They’re the pace-setters, they have a good set-piece and, like I said, they’re not scared to attack from anywhere.  Yes, we are also unbeaten so far, but I’d like to see us become a bit more consistent… especially if you want to become the tournament pace-setters. (So) you can’t have any so-called ‘soft’ moments in your game.”  Match tickets are priced from just R35 (for standing), whilst seating prices range between R55, R65, R75 and R95 and can be purchased right now from http://wprugby.ticketpros.co.za.

Tickets can also be bought directly from the Newlands Box Office (opening times this week: Tuesday-Friday, 09:00-16:00 and Saturday, 09:00-14:30), or from selected Western Cape Spar stores and PostNet branches (nationwide).  Craig Joubert will referee the fixture.

The WP team for Saturday (v the Golden Lions) is as follows:

15. Cheslin Kolbe
14. Kobus Van Wyk
13. Juan De Jongh (captain)
12. Michael Van Der Spuy
11. Seabelo Senatla
10. Demetri Catrakilis
9. Nic Groom
8. Nizaam Carr
7. Michael Rhodes
6. Siya Kolisi
5. Manuel Carizza
4. Jean Kleyn 
3. Pat Cilliers (vice-captain)
2. Stephan Coetzee
1. Alistair Vermaak

16. Neil Rautenbach
17. Brok Harris
18. Ruan Botha
19. Rynhardt Elstadt
20. Louis Schreuder
21. Kurt Coleman
22. Jaco Taute