Cobras Secure Cape Town Final

A blistering century from Dane Vilas ensured that the Cape Cobras will host the Momentum One-Day Cup final after they claimed a five-wicket win over the Warriors at St George`s Park in Port Elizabeth on Saturday.  Unbeaten Vilas crashed five sixes and 11 fours in his 70-ball assault as the visitors recovered from some early trouble to chase down a 258 target with 15 balls to spare.  The Proteas wicketkeeper – reaching his sixth List A century – shared in an unbroken record 161-run sixth-wicket partnership with Justin Ontong, who made 60 not out (81 balls, two fours, one six).

The pair initially came together when their side was in a huge spot of bother at 96/5 and still needing 161 from 24 overs.  But they smashed the previous record of 137 unbroken between Vilas himself and Sybrand Engelbrecht, set back in the 2014/15 season.  The pick of the bowlers was Colin Ackermann, who earlier top-scored with the bat to lift the Warriors to a competitive total.

Ackermann struck 92 (125 balls. 10 fours), while Yaseen Vallie hit 58 (72 balls, five fours) to give the home side a chance, they eventually surrendered.  Dane Paterson was the pick of the bowlers with 3/54.  The Warriors dropped to third with the result and are likely to stay there and qualify for the play-offs, unless the Titans can secure bonus-point wins from their remaining two games.