Chippa United Promoted

Chippa United sealed promotion back to the Absa Premiership after both Jomo Cosmos and Milano United dropped points on Saturday against Thanda Royal Zulu and African Warriers respectively.  Both Cosmos and Milano needed to win all their remaining games to have a chance to catch pacesetters, Chippa who had a 12 point gap going into this round of games.  The Chilli Boys were relegated from the top flight to the National First Division (NFD) at the end of 2012/2013 season but have bounced back at the first time of asking.

“I would like to congratulate the Technical Team and players for a job well done.  The objective for us this season was to return back to the Premiership straightaway following our painful relegation last May.  Both the Technical Team and the players deserve a pat on the back for their efforts.  This however would not have been possible without the support from our loyal supporters who have rallied behind this club from day one.  Thank you to everyone in Phillipi and outside the borders of the Western Cape for the unwavering support.  I thank my family for the support and understanding and being a firm pillar of strength throughout these years,” said club chairman Chippa Mpengesi.

Meanwhile, Premier Soccer League (PSL) CEO, Brand De Villiers congratulated the NFD champions on their promotion.  “This has been one of the most exciting and closely contested seasons in the National First Division seasons.  The title race was not an easy one even though Chippa United won with a few games to spare – for a while we saw clubs like Milano United, Baroka FC, Jomo Cosmos, Black Leopards and others staging a brave fight for top honours.  At the end of the day, Chippa United showed class and deservedly earned their place back in the Absa Premiership.  I would like to congratulate the club chairman, the players, the technical staff and Chippa United supporters for achieving this feat.  As the League, we will do our best to help them prepare once again for life in the Absa Premiership,” De Villiers said.

The PSL will hand over the trophy to the NFD Champions on Sunday, 4 May.