Chelsea Wins English League Cup

Two bizarre goals from John Terry and Diego Costa handed Chelsea its fifth English League Cup trophy as they beat cross town rivals Tottenham Hotspur 2-0 at Wembly Stadium on Sunday night in a catchy finale.  Prior to this clash Spurs had won the most recent League Cup meeting between the sides, beating the Blues 2-1 after extra-time in the 2008 final and with the high flying Harry Kane they were certainly in it to win it.  Jose Mourinho’s men were out to end a two match winless streak against the North London side after also losing 6-3 on aggregate in the 2002 semi-finals.

The match lit up from the onset with Christian Eriksen’s free kick hitting the bar in the ninth minute.  Exhibition football from both sides set up for a high paced encounter with neither side willing to take punches without throwing some of their own.  Mourinho’s men played in an unfamiliar system confusing their opponents and themselves in the process, however they were always alert.

Despite flirting with danger, the West London club scored first through veteran John Terry in the 44th minute.  The 34-year old had the ball falling kindly for him and he let loose striking it against Eric Dier and the deflection helped it to the back of the net.  The Stamford Bridge club held on to the undeserved 1-0 lead going ito the break.

Mauricio Pochettino’s men started the second stanza brightly but almost conceded in the 49th minute through a Cesc Febregas bicycle kick but Hugo Lloris made a great save.  It didn’t take long though for the Blue army to strike again.  This time Diego Costa with the help of a deflection from Kyle Walker puzzled Lloris and it was 2-0.

From there on Pochettino’s charges were all over the place chasing shadows and failed to get anything going.  Despite great counters from the White Hart Lane club their finishing remained poor throughout the match which was the opposite for their counterparts.  In the end, a great match was played and there could only be one winner as Chelsea clinched its fifth League Cup title.