Cheetahs Ready For Super Opener

The Cheetahs will be taking on the Jaguares from Argentina in the first Super Rugby home game for 2016.   The encounter marks a historical milestone with the Argentine team being part of the Super Rugby competition for the very first time.   Cheetahs coach Franco Smith has named Charles Marais, Torsten Van Jaarsveld and Maks Van Dyk in his front row.  

Carl Wegner and Lood De Jager will form the lock pair with Boom Prinsloo, Uzair Cassiem and Niel Jordaan making up the loose trio.  Shaun Venter and Fred Zeilinga will make up the half-back trio with William Small-Smith and captain Francois Venter in the midfield.  Raymond Rhule, Sergeal Petersen and Clayton Blommetjies form the back three.


1. Charles Marias
2. Torsten Van Jaarsveld
3. Maks Van Dyk
4. Carl Wegner
5. Lodewyk De Jager ( vc )
6. Boom Prinsloo
7. Uzair Cassiem
8. Niell Jordaan
9. Shaun Venter
10. Fred Zeilinga
11. Raymond Rhule
12. William Small-Smith
13. Francois Venter ( c )
14. Sergeal Petersen
15. Clayton Blommetjies


16. Jacques Du Toit
17. Ox Nche
18. Luan De Bruin
19. Reniel Hugo
20. Henco Venter
21. Paul Schoeman
22.  Tian Meyer
23. Niel Marais