Bulls Unchanged For Cheetahs Clash

Bulls coach Frans Ludeke named the same run-on team from last weekend to face the Cheetahs on Saturday in Bloemfontein in their first away trip in the 2015 Vodacom Super Rugby competition.  The same fifteen that ran out in the win over the Cell C Sharks will front up in the Free State Stadium as the Bulls look to build the momentum gathered from the win against the coastal side.  Ludeke only made one change to the bench, where Piet Van Zyl returns to Bloemfontein to face his former Super Rugby team.

Ludeke says:  ‘We finally found the momentum we were looking for in the opening rounds of the competition against the Sharks and managed four tries.  We will need the confidence and rhythm picked up on the weekend against the Cheetahs.  They are one of the early front runners and will be full of self-belief.  I am happy to name the same team.  This is not only a vote of confidence, but we are also blessed with no injuries, something that hampered our consistency in the first couple of weeks.’  Bulls captain Pierre Spies, who scored one of the four tries against the Sharks last weekend, was keen for his troops to continue their positive mind-set on attack and self-belief in the set-phases:  ‘We did front up last weekend and for the first time this season, managed to finish when we created try-scoring opportunities.  Training was much easier this week as the belief came back.  We had a good week and are again looking for a good result.  It will not be easy.  They won in Bloem last year, something we need to change.’

The Bulls team to play the Cheetahs is (with Super caps): Jesse Kriel (4), Bjorn Basson (74), JJ Engelbrecht (52), Jan Serfontein (31), Francois Hougaard (75), Handrè Pollard (16), Rudy Paige (10), Pierre Spies (c, 106), Lappies Labuschagne (30), Deon Stegmann (82), Victor Matfield (141), Jacques Du Plessis (18), Trevor Nyakane (45), Adriaan Strauss (108), Mornè Mellett (27). Replacements: Callie Visagie (40), Dean Greyling (56), Marcel Van Der Merwe (20), Grant Hattingh (37), Hanro Liebenberg (1), Tian Schoeman (1), Piet Van Zyl (46), Jurgen Visser (26).