Bayern Munich Mauls Shakthar Donetsk

Bayern Munich qualified for the quarter-finals of the Uefa Champions League when they defeated 10-man Shakhtar Donetsk 7-0 (and on aggregate) at Allianz Arena on Wednesday.  Bayern’s lead came courtesy of a penalty conversion by Thomas Mueller after Shakhtar defender Olexandr Kucher drew a foul on Mario Goetze inside the penalty area, earning himself a straight-red card in the process.  Jerome Boateng and Franck Ribery scored either side of half-time, after a first leg which ended goalless.

Mueller, Holger Badstuber, Goetze and Robert Lewandowski added more goals.  The second goal came in the 34th minute, when Boateng tapped in the rebound from two yards, after Andriy Pyatov saved a point-blank shot from Lewandowski.  By half-time, Bayern had enjoyed 79% of possession, with 15 shots on goal compared to Shakhtar’s one.

Pep Guardiola’s men came out for the second half with the clear intention of finishing off their wounded opponents, and it was game over in the 49th minute when Ribery cut inside after some wonderful interplay with Goetze, playing a one-two with Boateng, and slipping a calm finish into the bottom right hand corner for Bayern’s third.  More Ribery wizardry was displayed, this time beating Dario Srna to fire a low cross across the six-yard box that Pyatov came off his line to tip away, only to find Mueller who mopped it up into an empty net for his second of the game.  The Bavarians continued to pile pressure on Mircea Lucescu’s men, who have only progressed once past this round, when they made the last eight in 2011.

More goals continued to pile into the Hirnyky net with Badstuber bulleting his header for the hosts’ fifth, Lewandowski then squeezed one under Pyatov, before Goetze sealed it with a seventh in the 87th minute.  The five-time European Cup winners last won the trophy in 2013 and were runners-up in 2012 and 2010.  Guardiola’s gladiators join Real Madrid and Porto in the last eight but must wait until next week’s remaining Round of 16 ties and the subsequent draw on March 20 before learning who they will face in the next round.