Basetsana Ready For Zambia

The South African under-20 Women’s National Team, Basetsana, is back in camp after a break of one week.  Basetsana face Zambia in the second leg of their 2016 Papua New Guinea Women’s under-20 World Cup qualifier.  The clash will take place at the Makhulong Stadium in Tembisa on Saturday, 10 October.  Kick off is at 15:00.

The two teams played to a goalless draw in the first leg at the Nkoloma Stadium in Lusaka on Sunday, 27 September.  Head coach Elisabeth Migchelsen says:  ‘So far everything is going well, we are on track with our preparations.  The team looks sharp and fit.  We are all looking forward to playing this game and I am confident we can do it.’  South Africa will be without two players who got injured in Zambia – defenders Chamelle Wiltshire and Bongeka Gamede.

Migchelsen has brought in defenders Leigh Daniels (Golden Stars), Jamie-Lee Witbooi (Spurs WFC) and Babalwa Mngxunya (RV United) as well as striker striker Thembi Kgatlana (UWC):  ‘Injuries and changes are part of football, and with the game being a contact sport sometimes you get injuries and you need to replace them.  I believe those we have called up will do well, and from what we have seen at training I am happy.  I expect a similar match to what we played in Zambia, very physical.  The good thing is that the girls also know what to expect and what to do to protect themselves.  They really want to play this game and show that they can play good football and get a good result against Zambia on Saturday.  We believe we have what it takes to win.’

Basetsana squad to face Zambia – 2nd leg


1. Regirl NGOBENI  
2. Mapaseka MPURU  
3. Asa RABALAO  


4. Drishana PILLAY  
5. Tiisetso MAKHUBELA 
6. Thato LETSOSO  
7. Amanda MTHANDI  
9. Leigh DANIELS  
10. Jamie-Lee WITBOOI  
11. Babalwa MNGXUNYA 


12. Puleng MOREMI  
13. Thalea SMIDT  
14. Amogelang MOTAU (C) 
15. Lelona DAWETI  
16. Linda MOTLHALO  
17. Nomathamsanqa SIKWEZA 
18. Gabriela SALGADO  


19. Anelisa NDYEBI  
20. Zimasa DEKEDA  
21. Tshwarelo DIGAOTO 
22. Mosidi MAKHOALI  
23. Thembi KGATLANA