Australia Win At Last

Australia notched their first win of the tournament by comfortably defeating Bangladesh by seven wickets in their ICC World Twenty20 Group 2 encounter on Tuesday.  The tournament hosts won the toss and chose to bat in Mirpur.  The Tigers lost their opening batsmen Anamul Haque (0) and Tamim Iqbal (5) in quick succession leaving them on 12/2.

The skipper Mushfiqur Rahim (47) and Shakib Al Hasan steadied their innings and played some controlled cricket to get them to 124/2 before the skipper departed three short of his half century and Al Hasan (66) soon after.  Mahmudullah Riyad (6 not out) was joined by Nasir Hossain at the crease taking their side past 150 before Hossain (14) departed with the Bangladeshis ending their innings on 153/5.

David Warner and Aaron Finch put on a 52 run partnership taking the Aussies to 97/0 before Warner (48) was castled by Al-Amin Hossain (2-30).  Cameron White (18 not out) joined Finch at the crease chipping away at the deficit.  Finch departed for 71 bringing in Glen Maxwell who only managed five before he was clean bowled by Taskin Ahmed (1-24) for his maiden T20 International wicket.

The Baggy Greens were firmly in control of the game despite the loss of their three wickets and their skipper George Bailey (11 not out) hit the winnings runs to see his side home by seven wickets with 15 balls remaining.  The man of the match award went to Aaron Finch for his 71 runs off only 45 deliveries.