Australia Win In Durban

Australia defeated South Africa in the second T20 International at Kingsmead in Durban by five wickets in a heavily rain-affected encounter that saw the match reduced to a mere seven overs a side.  The Australians won the toss and chose to field.

The Proteas got off to a solid start at 5/0 after the first over.  However Hashim Amla (4) was first to go caught and bowled by Nathan Coulter-Nile (1/17).  Next in was captain Faf Du Plessis (27 not out) whose first ball faced from Coulter-Nile should have seen him walking back to the hut as he edged it, but was not given out by the umpire.  Du Plessis and Quinton De Kock (41 not out) put on a 50-run partnership carving the Australian bowlers around the field as South Africa posted 80/1 in their seven overs.

The Aussie openers Aaron Finch and David Warner both came out and got going straight away getting 21 runs off the first over by Lonwabo Tsotsobe (0/21).  The next over by Kyle Abbott (1/5) brought some control for the hosts when Finch (5) went for a big shot and was caught by Hashim Amla.

The Proteas did not have to wait long for their second wicket when Wayne Parnell (1/17) got the wicket of Shane Watson (2) who was caught at short extra cover by Abbott with Australia on 46/2.  On came JP Duminy (2/5) who got the wicket of Warner (40) with his very first ball and Glen Maxwell (1) not long after to leave the visitors struggling at 52/4.

With two overs left David Miller ran out the Australian skipper George Bailey (2) bringing in Brad Haddin (4*).  Brad Hodge (21*) hit consecutive sixes to take the game to the last two balls with the Australian winning by 5 wickets.  The third and final T20I takes place at Centurion on Friday.