ASA Announces SA Team For IAAF World Championships

Athletics South Africa (ASA) has announced the team for the IAAF Senior World Championships, scheduled for 22 to 30 August 2015 in Beijing, China.  Only athletes who qualified on performance are included in the team.  Any athlete that may qualify as the African Champion must still proof their level of fitness to the selectors.

There is still a chance for athletes to qualify and all valid performances up to 31 July will be considered for inclusion into the team.  The final closing date for entries is 10 August 2015, but due to time needed for visa applications, performances between 1 and 10 August will only be considered in exceptional circumstances.

The team is as follows:


Antonio Alkana
Henrico Bruintjies
Willem Coetzer
Orazio Cremona
Johan Cronje
Jaco Engelbrecht
Cornel Fredericks
Lucas Jani
Anaso Jobodwana
Berend Koekemoer
Benedict Moeng
Desmond Mokgobu
Khotso Mokoena
Stephen Mokoka
Mark Mundell
Sibusiso Nzima
Ruswahl Samaai
Lebogang Shange
Akani Simbine 
Wade Van Niekerk
Rynardt Van Rensburg
Rocco Van Rooyen
LJ Van Zyl
Zark Visser


Carina Horn 
Justine Palframan       
Wenda Nel  
Sunette Viljoen     
Tanith Maxwell

Copyright picture by WESSEL OOSTHUIZEN / SASPA